IMS Global Standards

What is ISO 45001?

When published on 12 March 2018 it became the first truly global standard for occupational health and safety management system.  It will replace OHSAS 18001 which is currently used by over 150,000 organisations worldwide. Its importance is in addressing the failings in H&S that lead to the global annual death toll of 2.5 million lives and unnecessary  business costs.  ISO 45001 will replace OHSAS 18001, which is to be withdrawn.  It is an Integrated Management Standard, aligned with ISOs 9001 & 14001.  This International Standard specifies requirements for an occupational health and safety management system, (note ISO will not develop guidance for its use), to enable an organisation to proactively improve its OH&S performance in preventing injury and ill-health.  ISO 45001 is designed to be flexible and applicable to an organisation of any size.  It is an integrated management standard, thus compatible with ISOs 9001, 14001 and 27001 etc. 

Over 6300 people die each day from work-related accidents or diseases - that’s nearly 2.5 million every year.                                                     

The burden of occupational injuries and diseases is significant, both for employers and the wider economy, resulting in losses from early retirements, staff absences and rising insurance premiums.

To combat the problem, ISO is developing a new standard, ISO 45001, Occupational health and safety management systems - Requirements, that will help organizations reduce this burden by providing a framework to improve employee safety, reduce workplace risks and create better, safer working conditions, all over the world.

The standard is currently being developed by a committee of occupational health and safety experts, and will follow other generic management system approaches such as ISO 14001 and ISO 9001, all based on Annex SL. It will take into account other International Standards in this area, such as OHSAS 18001, the International Labour Organization's ILO-OSH Guidelines, various national standards and the ILO's international labour standards and conventions, (statement courtesy of ISO)

Key Features

  • ISO 45001 is an integrated management standard
  • Context of the organisation sets the scene for requirements
  • Emphasis on leadership and specific role of top management
  • Significant involvement and participation of workers
  • Risk based objectives rather than prescriptive thinking
  • Continuous improvement based on Plan Do Check Act

Will it Affect Me?

  • Over 100,000 certifications expected in 2018
  • Supply chain to compliant organisations will have to conform
  • OHSAS 18001 organisations will have to transit or drop out of global OHSMSystems
  • Other sectors specific standards will have to take ISO 45001 into account
  • In some nations it as a legal requirement
  • Self verfication becomes possible in addition to the normal certification route                                                                                             

What should I first do?

  • Check what OHSMSystem or Integrated Management System if any, you currently use e.g. 9001,14001
  • Use our transition guidance appropriate  for your present status e.g OHSAS 18001
  • Find out whether you will need to conform  to 45001 in order to maintain your business relationships
  • Use our quick assessment tool
  • Ensure Top Management make a positive, informed decision on the adoption of 45001